Jump Canada Levy Rider Bursary Program

At BCHJA Gold Horse Shows, there will be a rider bursary awarded to the top ribbon placing BCHJA member in selected “feature” hunter/jumper classes.  An individual may win a maximum of one Jump Canada Levy Rider Bursary per season.

2017 ($750 per bursary)

April Season Opener
Class 410 $1,000 3’0”-3’3” Green/Jr/Amateur Ashby Group Canadian Hunter Derby Top BCHJA Green Horse – won by Brent Balisky

Canadian Premier
Class 451 $25,000 7 Up Stables USHJA International Hunter Derby 3’6”Top BCHJA Rider – won by Bill Ulmer
Class 438 $1,500 Maplebrook Young Horse Showcase 6 Yr Old ClassTop BCHJA Young Horse – no eligible BCHJA rider in this class

Odlum Brown BC Open
Class 442 $2,000 CSIOJ* Junior Riders Grand Prix 1.40 M Top BCHJA Rider – won by Mary Jones  

West Coast Classic
Class 521 BCHJA Jr/Am Hunt Seat Medal 3’3Top BCHJA Rider – won by Paige Sullivan  
Class 470 $1,500 New Stride Thoroughbred Adoption Society Jumper Challenge 0.75M/0.90M/1.0MTop BCHJA TB Horse – won by Katz Piller 

Western Family
Class 451/452 FEI Children’s International Classic Top BCHJA Rider in Either Competition 1 or 2 -no eligible BCHJA rider in this class  

Milner Downs Summer Classic I
Class 601 $2,500 Milner Downs Jr/Am Hunter Derby 3’0”/3’3”Top BCHJA Rider – won by  Caroline McKillen

Milner Downs Summer Classic II
Class 602 $5,000 Open Canadian Hunter Derby 3’3”/3’6”Top BCHJA Rider – won by Wendy Valdes 
Class 398 $2,000 Jr/Am 0.90M “My First Grand Prix”Top BCHJA Rider – won by Taylor Leong

Summer Fort Classic
Class 406 $10,000 Classic Equine Equipment 1.30M Winning RoundTop BCHJA Rider – won by Brian Morton

Summer Fort Festival
Class 437 $2,000 Maplebrook Farms Young Horse Showcase Five Year Old Finale 1.00M-1.10MTop BCHJA Young Horse – won by Tracey Epp 
Class 440 $135,600 CSI3* W Longines World Cup QualifierTop BCHJA Rider -no eligible BCHJA rider in this class

BCHJA Fall Finale
CET FinalTop BCHJA Rider – won by Halle Gainey  
Jump Canada Equitation Final Top BCHJA Rider – won by Madison Weber  

2016 Bursary Winners
2015 Bursary Winners
2014 Bursary Winners