Hunter Derby Horse of the Year

This award is presented, as warranted by the selection committee, to a horse who has demonstrated exceptional performance in the hunter-derby ring – at any height – over the show season. This award is based on performance at BCHJA-eligible shows as well as national and international shows


Prior to 2019, this award was known as the Hunter Horse of the Year.

2014 Marley – Anna Hunt Binkley (owner) Kendra Best (rider/trainer)
2013 Maple Bay – Ellen Brown (owner) Bill Ulmer (rider/trainer)
2012 Farscape DSF – Jennifer Arnoldt (owner) Ashley Papalial (rider/trainer)
2011 Dante’s Inferno – Susan McFarlane (owner) Eliza Hunt (rider/trainer)
2010 Tusany – Brittany Huva (owner) Bill Ulmer (rider/trainer)
2009 Catani – Ann Lindwall (owner) Norah Ross (trainer)[/text_output]

This award is presented to the horse with the highest BCHJA points accumulated over the season in pre-green or green hunter classes.